INDIAN DANCES

Authors

  • NONTALEE RATANAPANT

Keywords:

Indian Classical Dance, Indian Folk Dance

Abstract

        India is a large country with a long land from the Himalayas to the Indian Ocean. It is on the continent of South Asia, the world's 7th largest, and has a history of more than 5,000 years. It is considered a country that has a major cultural influence on many countries in Southeast Asia. In various fields, whether it is a matter of government, religious law, arts literature. Indian dance is one of the most popular and well-known things in many countries around the world, especially Natyasastra (नाट्य शास्त्र), is an ancient Sanskrit textbook in India's oldest performing arts. The form of dance performance in India is divided into 2 types:

  1. Classical Dance (शास्त्रीय नृत्य) according to the form of the Ministry of India is divided The Classical Dance pattern 9 types, as follows 1. Bharatnatyam (भरतनाट्यम) 2. Kathak (कथक) 3. Kathakali (कथकली) 4. Kuchipudi (कूचिपूड़ी) 5. Manipuri (मणिपुरी)
  2. Mohiniyattam (मोहिनीयट्टम) 7. Odissi (ओड़िसी) 8. Sattriya (सत्रीया नृत्य) and 9. Chhau (छऊ). These are unique, such as the elements of the performances and basic practice.
  3. Folk Dance (लोक नृत्य) is a widespread show in various localities in India. That is influenced by religion, tradition, ritual, beliefs and livelihoods of local people.

          This shows that in the midst of the differences and similarities of dancing in a country with a vast territory and cultural wealth, such as India. Classical Dance and Folk Dance are something that reflects the national identity. Some dances became known and widespread in various countries around the world. But the dance is still known only in local places. And inherit until now.

           In addition, it is also observed that translating various words. If translated from English to Thai, it may cause confusion in pronunciation. Therefore, translation from Hindi to Thai directly will make the spelling and pronunciation more accurate.

Downloads

Download data is not yet available.

References

ณพเกษม โชติดิลก. รัฐคุชราต เพชรแห่งอินเดียตะวันตก. สืบค้นจาก https://www.thaiindia.net/about-india/76-state-info/1880-gujarat-diamond-of-the-west.html, 2558.

นนทลี รัตนพันธุ์. “อิทธิพลของศาสนากับนาฏศิลป์ตามแบบแผน.” วารสารวิทยบริการ: สำนักวิทยบริการ มหาวิทยาลัยสงขลานครินทร์ วิทยาเขตปัตตานี, 2020, (270-278).

สุภัทรดิศ ดิศกุล, หม่อมเจ้า. ศิลปะอินเดีย. กรุงเทพ : โรงพิมพ์คุรุสภาลาดพร้าว, 2519, (1-4).

Ankur Kashyap. Nati — the folk dance of Himachal. from https://ankurkashyap85.medium.com/nati-the-folk-dance-of-himachal-f9adf8092824, 2018.

Avishek. Top 15 famous dance forms of Odisha you must check out. From https://ebhubaneswar.com/ odisha/top-15-famous-dance-forms-of-odisha-you-must-check-out/, 2021.

Bhangra dance. From https://dancefans.cultu.be/bhangra-dance Indianetzone, 2018.

Brijmohan Bisht. Folk Songs and Dances of Uttarakhand. From https://www.euttaranchal.com/culture/folk-songs-and-dances-of-uttarakhand.php, 2020.

Chahat Kanojia. Raut Nacha of Chattisgarh. From https://www.auchitya.com/raut-nacha-of-chattisgarh/, 2021.

Chirag. The 8 popular forms of folk dances of Bihar. From https://blog.aaobihar.com/the-popular-folk-dances-of-bihar/, 2021.

Delphi. ยักชากานา การเต้นรำ – ละครอินเดีย. From https://delphipages.live/th///yakshagana, 2020.

Dhermendra Chahar. A complete list of folk and tribal dance in India. From https://www.thwiki.press/wiki/Indian_folk_dance, 2018.

Gosahin. Hojagiri Folk Dance, Tripura. From https://www.gosahin.com/places-to-Visit /hojagiri/, 2021.

__________. Raas Leela Folk Dance, Uttar Pradesh. From https://www.gosahin.com/places-to-visit/raas-leela-folk-dance/ Hugo Tresinie, 2021.

Indianetzone.Folk Dances of Haryana. From https://www.indianetzone.com/1/folk_dances_haryana.htm, 2018.

Incredible India. Bihu Dance.from https://www.incredibleindia.org/content/incredible-indiav2/en/destinations/guwahati/bihu-dance.html, 2018.

India9. Ruk Mar Nacha. from https://www.india9.com/i9show/Ruk-Mar-Nacha-28875.htm, 2014.

K.S Vijetha Naomi. Chholiya. From https://www.kalapeet.com/chholiya/, 2021.

Karnatakatourism. Dollu Kunitha (Drum Dance). From https://www.karnatakatourism.org/destinations/dollu-kunitha-drum-dance/, 2020.

Lowen, S. Dances of India (Odissi). New Delhi: Wisdom Tree, 2004.

Mahima singh. Fugdi Dance: Folk Dance of Goa. From https://www.auchitya.com/fugdi-dance-folk-dance-of-goa/, 2021.

Mahima singh. Veerabhadra Natyam or Veeranatyam Dance of Andhra Pradesh. From https://www.auchitya.com/veeranatyam-dance-from-andhra-pradesh/, 2021.

Mala Chandrashekhar. Lavani: The Most Popular Folk Dance of Maharashtra. from https://cultureandheritage.org/2021/05/lavani-the-most-popular-folk-dance-of-maharashtra.htm, 2021.

Mansee Jain. Cheraw: The Traditional Bamboo Dance of Mizora. From https://www.amarchitrakatha.com/history_details/cheraw-the-traditional-bamboo-dance-of-mizoram/, 2021.

Mythical India. 5 popular folk dances from Gujarat. From https://mythicalindia.com/features-page/5-popular-folk-dances-from-gujarat/, 2020.

Mythicalindia. Jhumar and other popular folk dances of Jharkhand. From https://mythicalindia.com/features-page/jhumar-and-other-popular-folk-dances-of-jharkhand/, 2020.

Navya Agrawal. Rouf Dance of Jammu and Kashmir. From https://www.auchitya.com/rouf-dance-the-kashmiri-beauty/, 2020.

NE Travel Expert. The dances of Nagaland. From https://www.ne.cab/tribe/the-dances-of-nagaland/, 2019.

Priya. Perini Shiva Thandavam – An Ancient Dance of India. from https://bharatstories.com/perini-shiva-thandavam-an-ancient-dance-of-india/, 2019.

Raja, R., & Radha, R. Dances of India (Kuchipudi). New Delhi: Wisdom Tree, 2004.

Sakulrat Preedaphol. Tamil Nadu – Kerala มนตราอินเดียใต้. From https://www.travelaroundtheworld-mag.com/exploration/tamilnadu-kerala/, 2018.

Shikha Goyal. List of Folk Dances of Different States in India. From https://www.jagranjosh.com/general-knowledge/lists-of-states-and-folk-dances-of-india-1466770456-1, 2019.

Shweta Sharma. Bardo Chham – Folk Dance of Arunachal Pradesh. from https://www.auchitya.com/bardo-chham-folk-dance-of-arunachal-pradesh/, 2021.

Shweta Sharma. Dangi Dance of Himachal Pradesh. From https://www.auchitya.com/rouf-dance-the-kashmiri-beauty/, 2021.

Shweta Sharma. Grida Dance of Madhya Pradesh. from https://www.auchitya.com/grida-dance-of-madhya-pradesh/, 2021.

Shweta SharmaMatki Dance of Malwa Region in Madhya Pradesh. From https://www.auchitya.com/matki-dance-of-madhya-pradesh/ 2564, 2021.

Sikkim.Tourism. Chaam: The Ritualistic Masked Dance from Sikkim. From https://www.outlookindia.com/outlooktraveller/explore

/story/71326/chaam-ritualistic-masked-dance-from-sikkim, 2021.

Singh, R. K. S. Dances of India (Manipuri). New Delhi: Wisdom Tree, 2004.

Swantour. Kalbelia Dance Rajasthan. from https://www.swantour.com/blogs/kalbelia-dance-rajasthan/, 2019.

The Palace on Wheels. Most Popular Traditional Folk Dances of Rajasthan. from https://www.thepalaceonwheels.org/blog/most-popular-traditional-folk-dances-of-rajasthan/#4_Kathputli, 2020.

Tusk Travel. Popular Folk Dances of Meghalaya. From https://www.tusktravel.com/blog/popular-folk-dances-of-meghalaya/, 2020.

Utsavpedia. Chhau Dance of Purulia. From https://www.utsavpedia.com/cultural-connections/indian-performing-arts/chhau-dance-of-purulia/, 2015.

V.A.Ponmelil. India - Introduction to Folk Dance of India. From https://www.newkerala.com/india/Dance-Forms-of-India/Introduction-to-Folk-Dance-of-India.html, 2018.

Published

29-06-2022

How to Cite

RATANAPANT, N. . (2022). INDIAN DANCES. Journal of Suan Sunandha Arts and Culture, 2(1), 13–35. Retrieved from https://so01.tci-thaijo.org/index.php/artsjournal_ssru/article/view/259971