The Banning of Future Forward

Main Article Content

Duncan McCargo


On 21 February 2020, Thailand’s Future Forward Party was dissolved by order of the Constitutional Court.Sixteen members of the party executive – including leader Thanathorn Juangroongruangkit, secretary-general Piyabutr Saengkanokkul, and spokesperson Pannika Wanich – were banned holding political office for the next ten years. Eleven of the sixteen were also party list MPs. The party’s crime? Illegally accepting two loans from Thanathorn, totalling 191 million baht. The case hinged on the Court’s interpretation of Sections 62 and 72 of the 2017 (2560) Organic Act on Political Parties.

Article Details